Ligue 1 live stream

Hot Teams

Ligue 1 Introduction

Ligue 1

Ligue 1, officially known as Ligue 1 Uber Eats for sponsorship reasons, is a French professional league for men's association football clubs. At the top of the French football league system, it is the country's primary football competition. Administrated by the Ligue de Football Professionnel, Ligue 1 is contested by 20 clubs and operates on a system of promotion and relegation from and to Ligue 2.

Seasons run from August to May. Clubs play two matches against each of the other teams in the league – one home and one away – totalling to 38 matches over the course of the season. Most games are played on Saturdays and Sundays, with a few games played during weekday evenings. Play is regularly suspended the last weekend before Christmas for two weeks before returning in the second week of January. As of 2021, Ligue 1 is one of the top national leagues, ranked sixth in Europe, behind England's Premier League, Spain's La Liga, Italy's Serie A , Germany's Bundesliga and Portugal's Liga Portugal.

Ligue 1 was inaugurated on 11 September 1932 under the name National before switching to Division 1 after a year of existence. It continued to operate under that name until 2002, when it adopted its current name. Paris Saint-Germain and AS Saint-Étienne are the most successful clubs with ten league titles each, while Olympique Lyonnais is the club that has won the most consecutive titles (seven between 2002 and 2008). With the presence of 71 seasons in Ligue 1, Olympique de Marseille hold the record for most seasons among the elite, while Paris Saint-Germain hold the league record for longevity with 47 consecutive seasons (from 1974 to present). FC Nantes is the team with the longest consecutive unbeaten streak (32 matches) and the fewest number of defeats (one match) in a single season, doing so in the 1994–95 campaign. In addition, Nantes also holds the record for the longest time without losing at home, with a run of 92 matches from May 1976 to April 1981.

The current champions are Paris Saint-Germain, who won in the 2021–22 season. The league has been won on multiple occasions by foreign-based club AS Monaco, the presence of which within the league makes it a cross-border competition.

Ligue 1 has been scheduled for a reduction to 18 clubs before the 2023–24 season.